Festival de Cannes

Content Authenticity Initiative


« Official Films Selections for the forthcoming 71st Festival de Cannes (8 to 19 May 2018) | Main | Ski Champion and Longines Ambassador of Elegance, Mikaela Shiffrin, visits Longines Headquarters in Switzerland »

April 13, 2018

India's National Film Awards for 2017 Announced

India Film Awards

Photo: The Head of the Jury, Shekhar Kapur, holding a press conference to announce the 65th India National Film Awards for 2017, in New Delhi on April 13, 2018.

India Film Awards

Photo: Actress Sridevi at the inauguration of the Indian Panorama section, during the 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI-2017), in Panaji, Goa on November 21, 2017. Sridevi has been selected for Best Actress Award for her role in Hindi Film “MOM”.

India’s 65th National Film Awards 2017 were announced today by the Chairpersons of the juries on Feature Films, Best Writing on Cinema and members of Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Non-Feature films. The Feature Film Central panel was headed by Shekhar Kapur, an eminent filmmaker known for his works in Hindi cinema and international cinema. The Non- Feature Film panel was headed by Nakul Kamte and the Best Cinema on Writing jury by Anant Vijay. The National Film Awards would be presented by Hon’ble President of India on May 3rd, 2018. The Jury Chairpersons of the 65th National Film Awards submitted its report to the Minister of Information & Broadcasting, Smriti Zubin Irani.

Veteran Hindi film actor Vinod Khanna was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his contribution to Indian Cinema. Other prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Assamese movie ‘Village Rockstars’ in Best Feature Film category and ‘Baahubali - The Conclusion’ in the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment category. Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film of a Director was given to the Jasari language movie ‘Sinjar’ directed by Pampally. Marathi Movie ‘Dhappa’ was awarded the Nargis Dutt Award For Best Feature Film On National Integration. Riddhi Sen and Sridevi got the award for the Best Actor (movie- Nagarkirtan) and Best Actress award (movie- Mom) respectively.

Best Film Critic award was given to Giridhar Jha for his writings covering vast horizon of Hindi cinema with authenticity and originality. Special Mention Award was given to the Sunil Mishra for his articles on cinema. Best Book on Cinema award was given to ‘Matmagi Manipur-The first Manipuri Feature Film’ authored by Bobby Wahengbam.

Special Jury Award in the Feature category was given to the movie ‘Nagarkirtan’ directed by Kaushik Ganguly and produced by Sani Ghose Ray. The best Children’s film was given to the Marathi Movie Mhorkya, directed by Amar Bharat Deokar. A.R Rahman was awarded the Best Music Direction award for the movie ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’.

|GlobalGiants.Com| StumbleUpon reddit Facebook Google Plus Tweet This Seed This on Newsvine

Edited & Posted by the Editor | 5:41 AM | Link to this Post

Start from HOME Go to Top