Content Authenticity Initiative

Press Freedom Day


« "G20 Global Smart Cities Alliance on Technology Governance" Launched to Counter Growing Tensions | Main | Tissot Gentleman — Permanent Elegance »

October 14, 2019

UNESCO announces Winners of the 2019 Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

Unesco, Flora Fountain

Unesco, Flora Fountain

Photos: Flora Fountain, Mumbai, India. Flora Fountain has received ‘Honorable Mention’ at the 2019 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.

PENANG, MALAYSIA, 14 October 2019 - The renewal of the historic Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts, Hong Kong, has received the Award of Excellence in this year’s UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.

Sixteen projects from five countries - Australia, Bhutan, China, India, and New Zealand - have been recognized by the international Jury of conservation experts in this year’s awards. The Jury met in August to review 57 entries from 14 countries across the Asia-Pacific region.

The Jury praised the Award of Excellence winner, Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts, stating:

“The transformation of the former Central Police Station into a world-class center for heritage and arts has created a vibrant new civic space in the heart of the city’s central business district.”

Other Awardees include:

Award of Distinction

Award of Merit

Honorable Mention

New Design in Heritage Contexts

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation program recognizes private individuals and organizations for successfully restoring and conserving structures and buildings of heritage value in the region. By recognizing private efforts to restore and adapt historic properties, the Awards aim to encourage other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public-private partnerships.

Awarded projects reflect a clear understanding and application of various criteria, such as the articulation of the spirit of place, technical achievement, appropriate use or adaption, and the project’s contribution to the surrounding environment as well as the local community’s cultural and historical continuity.

The 2019 Awards Ceremony saw 150 past winners, jury members, contributors, and friends of the Awards gather to recognize this year’s Award Winners.

|GlobalGiants.Com| StumbleUpon reddit Facebook Google Plus Tweet This Seed This on Newsvine

Edited & Posted by the Editor | 2:25 PM | Link to this Post

Start from HOME Go to Top