Google News

Content Authenticity Initiative


« Washington's National Press Club weathers Pandemic, Stays Engaged with its Members. | Main | FORTUNE Announces 2020 FORTUNE 500 List, Launches First-Ever "History Of The FORTUNE 500" Data Analytics Visualization Site With Partner Qlik »

May 18, 2020

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2020: Call for Applications and Nominations


Photo: UN Secretary-General António Guterres (right) meets with Audrey Azoulay, Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). July 16, 2019. United Nations, New York. UN Photo/Mark Garten. [File Photo]

Paris, France, May 18, 2020 — UNESCO has now opened its call for applications and nominations for the 2020 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes. This year UNESCO will reward five individuals or organizations around the world for their outstanding projects that promote literacy within the theme’ Teaching and learning literacy: the role of educators and changing pedagogies’.

This year’s thematic focus is highlighting teachers who are at the frontline of delivering literacy learning, and their contribution to promoting youth and adult literacy, linked to the Target 4.6 of the Sustainable Development Goal on Education (SDG4).

Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 495 projects and programs around the world have already received recognition and support for their excellent work.

• Who can Apply and Who can Nominate?

Governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals who promote literacy through projects and programs are welcome to apply.

Candidates should submit their Applications to Nominating Entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO, in the program’s country.

Candidates can also submit their applications through the online platform. Details about the application and nomination process are on the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes’ website.

National Commissions and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are encouraged to nominate individuals, institutions, and organizations who are making outstanding contributions to promoting literacy and who request a nomination.

- Deadline for candidates to submit to nominating entities: June 28, 2020; midnight, Paris time.

- Deadline for nominating bodies to submit their nominations to UNESCO: July 12, 2020; midnight, Paris time.

An independent International Jury would asses the nominations. The Jury would be composed of five experts based on the selection criteria. The Director-General of UNESCO would select the award winners on the recommendations of the International Jury. UNESCO would present the prizes on the occasion of International Literacy Day.

• About the Prizes

Through two prestigious literacy Prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 million people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes received by five laureates in total:

- The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989. The Government of the Republic of Korea supports it. This Prize gives special consideration to programs that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

- The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005. The Government of the People’s Republic of China supports it. This Prize recognizes programs that promote literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each Prizewinner receives a Medal, a Diploma, and US$ 20,000.

Source: UNESCO

|GlobalGiants.Com| StumbleUpon reddit Facebook Google Plus Tweet This Seed This on Newsvine

Edited & Posted by the Editor | 11:19 AM | Link to this Post

Start from HOME Go to Top