Content Authenticity Initiative

Press Freedom Day


« WIPO Director General visits CSIR New Delhi | Main | Dozens of Student Teams Worldwide to Compete in NASA Rover Challenge »

October 16, 2023

UNESCO names Rio de Janeiro as World Book Capital for 2025

The Director-General of UNESCO, Audrey Azoulay, designated Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) as the World Book Capital 2025.

World Book Capital

Photo: Seaside view, Catacumba Park, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. UNESCO has named Rio de Janeiro as the World Book Capital for 2025. Image credit: Second-Half Travels.

Paris, October 12, 2023 — “Books are vital vehicles to access, transmit and promote education, science, culture and information worldwide. Thanks to books, we keep ourselves informed and entertained and can better understand our world. It is why UNESCO designates a World Book Capital each year. After Accra in 2023 and Strasbourg in 2024, I am pleased to announce the designation of Rio de Janeiro as the World Book Capital for 2025,” UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay announced.

UNESCO and the World Book Capital Advisory Committee commended Rio de Janeiro’s demonstration of the importance of its literary heritage alongside a clearly defined vision and action plan to promote literature, sustainable publishing, and reading among young people tapping into digital technologies. It was the first time a Portuguese-speaking city was designated World Book Capital.

Rio de Janeiro is a huge seaside city in Brazil. In line with priorities expressed in the World Book Capital Charter, Rio de Janeiro conceives its project as having the ability to affect social change - through, for example, literacy, education, and poverty eradication - and bring sustainable economic benefit linked to the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.

The year of celebrations will start on April 23, 2025, on World Book and Copyright Day.

Cities designated as UNESCO World Book Capitals undertake to promote books and reading for all ages and groups, within and across national borders, and to organize a program of activities for the year.

As the twenty-fifth city to bear the title since 2001, Rio de Janeiro follows:

The UNESCO World Book Capital Advisory Committee comprises representatives of the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the International Authors Forum (IAF), the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA), the International Publishers Association (IPA), and UNESCO.

Source: UNESCO

|GlobalGiants.Com| StumbleUpon reddit Facebook Google Plus Tweet This Seed This on Newsvine

Edited & Posted by the Editor | 1:23 AM | Link to this Post

Start from HOME Go to Top