Content Authenticity Initiative

Press Freedom Day


« International Monetary Fund (IMF) updates its World Economic Outlook. | Main | Ganesan Kannabiran takes charge as NAAC Director. »

July 26, 2023

Wall Street Journal, ABC News, and PBS NewsHour win National Press Club Awards

National Press Club

WASHINGTON, DC, July 25, 2023 — The National Press Club President Eileen O’Reilly announced the National Press Club Journalism Awards winners.

The Wall Street Journal took home four awards in various categories, including its coverage of investor-backed telehealth services, photography of Ukrainian soldiers affected by a land mine, an investigation into Southwest Airlines’ role in last year’s holiday travel debacle, and its humorous take on ‘quiet quitting.’

Eileen O’Reilly stated that these awards celebrate exceptional journalism and acknowledge the journalists’ efforts to serve the public. The Nell Minnow Award for Cultural Criticism got awarded for an Insider story that sparked a national conversation on ‘quiet quitting.’ Nick Grube, who covers Washington for Honolulu Civil Beat, won the Washington Regional Reporting category for the second year. His reporting derailed a gubernatorial bid, sparked a congressional ethics organization, and pulled a federal nomination.

ABC News won an award for its breaking news coverage following the Supreme Court’s Dobbs decision, and PBS NewsHour won for its on-the-ground reporting in Ukraine. The New York Times was awarded the Joan M. Friedenberg Online Journalism Award for its coverage of Ukraine.

The awards dinner will occur at the National Press Club on Wednesday, August 30, 2023. The event will start at 6 p.m. with a reception in the Holeman Lounge, followed by dinner and a program in the ballroom.


Consumer Journalism-Newspapers
- Rolfe Winkler, Khadeeja Safdar, and Andrea Fuller from the Wall Street Journal for “Uncontrolled Substances”

Consumer Journalism-Periodicals
- A team of reporters from The Markup for “Pixel Hunt.”

Consumer Journalism-Broadcast
- Susan Hogan, Rick Yarborough, Steve Jones, Lance Ing, and Carlos Olazagasti of WRC-TV NBC Washington for “Driveway Danger”

Breaking News - Print/Online
- Alison Sider, Dawn Gilbertson, and Jacob Passy of the Wall Street Journal for “Southwest’s Holiday Meltdown”

Breaking News - Broadcast
- Devin Dwyer, Sarah Herndon, and Paul Strzegowski of ABC News for “Dobbs decision impact.”

Edwin M. Hood Award for Diplomatic Correspondence-Print
- Joel Schectman and Bozorgmehr Sharafedin from Reuters News for “America’s Throwaway Spies: How the CIA failed Iranian informants in its secret war with Tehran.”

Edwin M. Hood Award for Diplomatic Correspondence-Broadcast
- Nick Schifrin, Jack Hewson and Simon Ostrovsky, Eric O’Connor, Ed Ram, and Volodymyr Solohub of PBS NewsHour for “War in Ukraine”

Washington Regional Reporting
- Nick Grube of Honolulu Civil Beat

Arthur E. Rowse Award for Excellence in Examining the News Media-Print
- Wesley Lowery from The Philadelphia Inquirer for “Black City, White Paper”

Newsletter Journalism
- Somini Sengupta and Manuela Andreoni, The New York Times

Ann Cottrell Free Animal Reporting - Print
- Maria Bolotnikova of The Intercept and The Guardian for coverage of poultry industry practices

Ann Cottrell Free Animal Reporting - Broadcast
- A team of journalists from NBC News/The Pulitzer Center for reporting on the race for a covid vaccine enriching monkey poachers.

Joan M. Friedenberg Online Journalism Award
- Yousuf Al-Hlou and Masha Froliak of The New York Times for their coverage of the war in Ukraine

Angele Gingras Humor Award
- Callum Borchers of The Wall Street Journal for “On the Clock”

Sandy Hume Memorial Award for Excellence in Political Journalism
- Jacob Gardenswartz of The Wyoming Truth

Joseph D. Ryle Award for Excellence in Writing on the Problems of Geriatrics
- Ava Kofman of ProPublica and The New Yorker for “The Hospice Hustle: Endgame”

Michael A. Dornheim Award
- Craig Whitlock and Nate Jones of the Washington Post for “Foreign Servants: Retired U.S. Generals, Admirals Take Top Jobs With Saudi Crown Prince”

Lee Walczak Award for Political Analysis
- Domenico Montanaro of National Public Radio for “Explaining the right and its impact on politics.”

Nell Minow Award for Cultural Criticism
- Aki Ito of Insider for “The Rise of ‘Quiet Quitting’”

News Photo Award
- Emanuele Satolli of The Wall Street Journal for “Death and Devastation: A Visual Chronicle of Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine”


Consumer Journalism-Newspapers
- Michael Hawthorne of The Chicago Tribune for “Forever Chemical Threatens Consumers”

Consumer Journalism-Broadcast
- Vicky Nguyen, Joe Enoch, Adiel Kaplan, Jean Lee, and Jamie Nguyen from NBC News for “Frontover Dangers”

Edwin Hood Award-Print
- Barak Ravid of Axios for “Biden’s Peace: How the U.S. pushed normalization between Saudi Arabia and Israel.”

Washington Regional Reporting
- Orion Donovan-Smith of the Spokane Spokesman-Review

Arthur E. Rowse Award for Excellence in Examining the News Media-Print
- Alissa Quart of the Economic Hardship Reporting Project for “Make Journalism Work For Those Not Born Into an Elite Class”

Newsletter Journalism
- James Lartey and team, The Marshall Project, for their entry “Closing Argument.”

Ann Cottrell Free Award - Print
- Kenny Torrella of Vox for “The Fight for Animal Welfare through Alternative Meat Sources”

Ann Cottrell Free Award - Broadcast
- Avery Travis, Chris Nelson, David Barer, and Josh Hinkle of KXAN for “Vetting Your Pet’s Vet”

Joan M. Friedenberg Award
- Sophia Jones, Nidžara AhmetaÅ¡ević, and Milivoje Pantović of Rolling Stone for “The DJ and the War Crimes”

Joseph D. Ryle Award for Excellence in Writing on the Problems of Geriatrics
- Kitty Eisele of Texas Public Radio for “Twenty-Four Seven: A Podcast About Caregiving”

Michael A. Dornheim Award
- A team of journalists from NBC News, The Washington Post, the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, and Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism for “The Pentagon knows contractors for overseas bases have engaged extensively in trafficking workers despite ‘zero tolerance.”

Lee Walczak Award for Political Analysis
- Amelia Thomson-DeVeaux and Maggie Koerth of FiveThirtyEight for their abortion coverage

Nell Minow Award for Cultural Criticism
- Jeremy Eichler of The Boston Globe for coverage of classical music

Source: National Press Club


— The Editor is a Member of the National Press Club. StumbleUpon reddit Facebook Google Plus Tweet This Seed This on Newsvine

Edited & Posted by the Editor | 5:58 AM | Link to this Post

Start from HOME Go to Top